Averted Disaster Award

Celebrating the Invisible
Launching 2022


The Averted Disaster Award is the premier recognition of successful disaster mitigation interventions that are made invisible by the very nature of their success.

In the world of Disaster Risk Management (DRM), success means ‘nothing happens’ and as a result can cause policy makers and society at large to under value the importance of proactive intervention. The Averted Disaster Award sheds light on successes in DRM and ‘what might have been’ to recognize the outstanding work of those who invest in measures that keep our communities and world safe.

The Averted Disaster Award identifies and receives applications from individuals, project teams and organizations of all sizes, regions and industries whose successful DRM interventions are made invisible by one or more of the following

Success made invisible in the midst of broader disaster
Success made invisible by nature of the success
Success made invisible due to yet unrealised benefits
Success made invisible by the randomness of the specific outcome

[1] For further description of these invisible successes, read Lallemant, Rabonza et al. 2022, “Shedding light on avoided disasters: Measuring the invisible benefits of disaster risk management using probabilistic counterfactual analysis” Link

The field of disaster risk management faces the challenge of its failures being catastrophic while its successes go unnoticed. The Averted Disaster Award recognizes the innumerable successful interventions implemented worldwide and helps ensure society continues to function, thrive, and recover quickly in the face of disaster. This is urgent work worth celebrating!

HOw to Apply

MARCH 11, 2022

Nomination period closes

JUNE 10, 2022:

Final Submissions Due

AUGUST 1, 2022

Winner notified


Awards Ceremony at the Understanding Risk 2022 event

Nominations are now open and will close on March 11.

 The initial nomination form includes contact information, name of averted disaster/intervention being nominated and a brief description.

After the initial nomination, applicants are asked to provide a final submission by June that should include the following:

  • Details of the disaster mitigation intervention (who/what/when/where/why)
  • Details of the hazard event (within the past 5 years) or potential hazard event
  • What could have occurred without intervention. Inclusion of counterfactual analysis and/or risk modeling is recommended.
  • Best practices learned/future steps

Final submissions can be in any structure or format (narrative, slides, video, etc.). This is your opportunity to tell us about the impact of the disaster intervention nominated and why it deserves to win.